Main Menu

Medical & Health Services Academy

Under Construction

Welcome
Medical and Health Services Academy (MHSA) is a small learning community within John C. Kimball High School.   

​Purpose
To meet the needs of our students by preparing them for career and college readiness in the health services community by providing relevant student-driven integrated learning opportunities. 

Dates to Remember
If you missed the MHSA Academy Night November 6th, Please visit with us at the KHS Incoming Freshman Parent Night and Programs fair on Thursday, December 5th at 6:00 p.m. in the Cafe/Sports Complex to meet Students and Staff.

Announcements

Applications for incoming 8th graders are here. Please read the Introduction Letter for details on the requirements.

 

Read More

information

Special Events

If you missed the MHSA Academy Night November 6th, Please visit with us at the KHS Incoming Freshman Parent Night and Programs fair on Thursday, December 5th at 6:00 p.m. in the Cafe/Sports Complex to meet Students and Staff.

Are you interested in a paid summer internship? Learn more about the Kaiser Permanente Launch Program at https://kplaunch.kaiserpermanente.org/high-school-program/  The application window is open from December 13, 2019 through January 10, 2020.

Look for Science On Saturday held in Livermore in Febuary-March 2020. Free Science Enrichment Presentations. 

Staff

Mr. Foster                     Health Concepts 1, Medical Terminology & Human Physiology         tfoster@tusd.net         
Mr. Alexander               MHSA Biology                                                                                       jrinaldi@tusd.net
​Mrs. Thangavel            MHSA Chemistry                                                                                   kthangavel@tusd.net
Mr. Rinaldi                     MHSA Physics                                                                                        jrinaldi@tusd.net
Mrs. Lawrence             MHSA Algebra 1 & Geometry                                                               llawrence@tusd.net
Mr. Lawrence                MHSA P.E.                                                                                             jlawrence@tusd.net
Mr. Heinen                     MHSA English 9                                                                                    cheinen@tusd.net
Mrs. Des-Lauriers    ​​     MHSA English 10                                                                                  rdeslauriers@tusd.net
Ms. Frandsen                MHSA English 11                                                                                  dfrandsen@tusd.net
​Mr. Munger                    MHSA English 12                                                                                  cmunger@tusd.net
​Mrs. Russell                  MHSA Coordinator & Human Physiology                                            jrussell@tusd.net    
​Mr. Silva                         MHSA Counselor                                                                                   dsilva@tusd.net
Mr. Keller                       Principal                                                                                                 bkeller@tusd.net

Tutoring

KHS Site Tutoring Program is after school in the Library, Tu-Th
           When quarter one grades are posted, students that are in-danger-of failing any of their courses will
            receive a notice of academic probation and will be required to attend a minimum of 2 hours of
            tutoring per week until their grade has improved.

Community College Connections

Take a moment to check out the degrees offered at San Joaquin Delta College.
        Visit https://www.deltacollege.edu/degree-programs and select Degrees in
        Health and Fitness. If you are interested in attending classes while still in High
        School, be sure to contact Mr. Silva (dsilva@tusd.net) to sign up for Dual
​        Enrollment or the College Early Start Program.

MHSA APPLICATION DOCUMENTS