Main Menu

Medical & Health Services Academy

Under Construction

Welcome
Medical and Health Services Academy (MHSA) is a small learning community within John C. Kimball High School.   

​Purpose
To meet the needs of our students by preparing them for career and college readiness in the health services community by providing relevant student-driven integrated learning opportunities. 

Dates to Remember
MHSA Academy Night Incoming 9th graders interested in learning more about the academy, please join us on Wednesday, November 6th, at 6:00 p.m. in the Sports Complex to meet Students and Staff.

Field Trip for  Sophomores and Juniors to UOP - Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences will be on October 23rd 2019, 8:00-3:15. Sophomores received permission slips 10.8.19 during Health Concepts class. Juniors should drop by Room D7 before or after school to pick up a permission slip. Permission slips are Due by Friday 10.11.19. We are asking for a $15 donation to offset the cost of transportation.

Announcements
Applications for incoming 8th graders will be posted soon.

 

Read More

information

Special Events

Field Trip for  Sophomores and Juniors to UOP - Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences will be on October 23rd 2019, 8:00-3:15. Sophomores will receive permission slips tomorrow during Health Concepts class. Juniors should drop by Room D7 before or after school to pick up a permission slip. We are asking for a $15 donation to offset the cost of transportation.

Look for Science On Saturday held in Livermore in Febuary-March 2020. Free Science Enrichment Presentation 

Staff

Mr. Foster                      Health Concepts 1, Medical Terminology & Human Physiology         tfoster@tusd.net         
Mr. Alexander               MHSA Biology                                                                                       jrinaldi@tusd.net
​Mrs. Thangavel             MHSA Chemistry                                                                                   kthangavel@tusd.net
Mr. Rinaldi                    MHSA Physics                                                                                        jrinaldi@tusd.net
Mrs. Lawrence              MHSA Algebra 1 & Geometry                                                               llawrence@tusd.net
Mr. Lawrence                MHSA P.E.                                                                                             jlawrence@tusd.net
Mr. Heinen                    MHSA English 9                                                                                    cheinen@tusd.net
Mrs. Des-Lauriers    ​​     MHSA English 10                                                                                  rdeslauriers@tusd.net
Ms. Frandsen                MHSA English 11                                                                                  dfrandsen@tusd.net
​Mr. Munger                  MHSA English 12                                                                                  cmunger@tusd.net
​Mrs. Russell                 MHSA Coordinator & Human Physiology                                            jrussell@tusd.net    
​Mr. Silva                      MHSA Counselor                                                                                   dsilva@tusd.net
Mr. Keller                    Principal                                                                                                 bkeller@tusd.net

Tutoring

KHS Site Tutoring Program is after school in the Library, Tu-Th
           When quarter one grades are posted, students that are in-danger-of failing any of their courses will
            receive a notice of academic probation and will be required to attend a minimum of 2 hours of
            tutoring per week until their grade has improved.

Community College Connections

Take a moment to check out the degrees offered at San Joaquin Delta College.
        Visit https://www.deltacollege.edu/degree-programs and select Degrees in
        Health and Fitness. If you are interested in attending classes while still in High
        School, be sure to contact Mr. Silva (dsilva@tusd.net) to sign up for Dual
​        Enrollment or the College Early Start Program.