Main Menu

Special Education

Welcome to Special Education
Direct Line: 209.830.3270
Fax: 209.830.3274
 
Christopher Crone ccrone@tusd.net
Director of Special Education
504/IEP Coordinator
 
Johanna Gomez johannagomez@tusd.net
Secretary to the Director of Special Education


Alyssa Ciraulo aciraulo@tusd.net
Assistant to the Director of Special Education
 
TBA
Clerk Typist 
 
Rita Farabaugh rfarabaugh@tusd.net
Program Administrator

Laura Blanchard lblanchard@tusd.net
Program Specialist 
 
Sophy Reese sreese@tusd.net
Program Specialist
 
Melissa Johnson mejohnson@tusd.net
Program Specialist 
 
Tiffany Gonzales tiffanygonzales@tusd.net
Behavior & Curriculum Specialist

Misty Westcott mwestcott@tusd.net
Behavior & Curriculum Specialist

Information

SPECIAL EDUCATION ACRONYM DIRECTORY

A

ABA – Applied Behavior Analysis; Typically associated with development of a behavior support plan

ADA – Americans with Disability Act; Typically associated with section 504
ADHD – Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
ADR – Alternative Dispute Resolution
AE – Age Equivalent
ALB – Autistic-Like Behaviors; Typically used when referring to sped eligibility criteria for autism
APE – Adaptive PE; Special Education PE
AS – Asperger’s Syndrome
ASD – Autism Spectrum Disorder
ASL – American Sign Language
AT – Assistive Technology; E.g., alpha smart
 
B
 BICM – Behavior Intervention Case Manager
BIP – Behavior Intervention Plan
BSP – Behavior Support Plan
 
C
CAC – Community Advisory Committee
CAHSEE – California High School Exit Exam
CAPA – California Alternate Performance Assessment
CASL – Comprehensive Assessment of Spoken Language
CD – Conduct Disorder
CELDT – California English Language Development Test
CMA – California Modified Assessment
CP – Cerebral Palsy
CST – California Standards Test
 
D
D/HH – Deaf/Hard of Hearing
DSM – Diagnostic and Statistical Manual; Used by clinicians to diagnose psychiatric disabilities
 
E
ED – Emotional Disturbance; Sped category for students identified with significant emotional problems e.g, depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, etc.
ELL – English Language Learner
ESL – English as a Second Language
ESY – Extended School Year; Typically associated with students who require additional schooling during the summer so their ability does not regress substantially

F

FAA – Functional Analysis Assessment; Typically associated with development of a BSP/PBIP

FAPE – Free and Appropriate Education
FBA – Functional Behavioral Assessment; Typically associated with development of a bsp
FERPA – Family Educational and Rights and Privacy Act
 
G
GE – General Education
GE (on WJIII reports) – Grade Equivalent
 
H
HI – Hearing Impaired
HOH – Hard of Hearing
 
I
IAES – Interim Alternative Educational Setting
ID – Intellectual Disability; Previously referred to as Mental Retardation (MR)
IDEA – Individual with Disabilities Education Act
IEE – Individualized Educational Evaluation 
IEP – Individualized Education Program
IFSP – Individualized Family Service Plan
IQ – Intelligence Quotient
ITP – Individualized Transition Plan
 
L
LD – Learning Disability
LEA – Local Education Agency
LEP – Limited English Proficiency
LRE – Least Restrictive Environment; Typically associated with referring to the least restrictive environment in which the student can still make progress at his/her level with appropriate supports
LSH – Language Speech and Hearing
 
M
MD – Manifestation Determination; Refers to when a special education student receives ten days of suspension in a school year or is placed up for expulsion; Meeting to determine if behavior was caused by or substantially related to the disability and to ensure IEP was current
MR – Mental Retardation; see ID
 
N
NCLB – No Child Left Behind
NPS – Non-Public School

O
OCD – Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
ODD – Oppositional Defiant Disorder
OCR – Office of Civil Rights
OHI – Other Health Impaired
OI – Orthopedic Impairment
OSEP – Office of Special Education Programs
OT – Occupational Therapy; Fine/gross motor therapy
OWLS – Oral and Written Language Scales
 
P
PBIP – Positive Intervention Behavior Plan
PDD – Pervasive Developmental Disorder; Typically associated with Autism/Asperger’s syndrome
PT – Physical Therapy
 
R
RSP – Resource Support Program
RTI – Response to Intervention
 
S
SDC – Special Day Class
SELPA – Special Education Local Plan Area
SLD – Specific Learning Disability
SLI – Speech/Language Impairment
SLP – Speech/Language Pathologist
SS – Standard Scores
SST – Student Study Team
STS – Standards-Based Tests in Spanish
 
T
 TBI – Traumatic Brain Injury
 
V
VI – Visual Impairment
VMRC – Valley Mountain Regional Center
 
W
 WJ-III ACH – Woodcock Johnson III Tests of Achievement, academic assessment.